People Who Have Influenced Me

I’ve heard it said that we are the sum of the five people with whom we spend the most time. I’ve certainly seen this to be true in my life and throughout my career. I have also learned that there are some people we will meet throughout our lives who leave an indelible mark on us, even if we may not spend most of our time with them. 

 

Throughout my life, I have been privileged to spend time with individuals who have impacted me greatly through our friendship. While, these have always been private relationships to me, I thought I could take an opportunity to share some of the wisdom I’ve learned from them throughout our time together:

 

Dalai Lama 2
His Holiness The Dalai Lama-
His Holiness is someone who has made a tremendous impact on my life. My friendship journey with His Holiness started with a private audience in New York many years ago. And blossomed when I hosted a gathering in Atlanta in support of his precious people. And, then followed by a rare invitation by the International Campaign for Tibet to visit His Holiness in Dharamshala. His Holiness’s love of humanity, and tireless work on behalf of the Tibeten people, and at the same time, his innate ability to forgive and untie has been something I’ve treasured to witness and implement in my own life. 

 

Richard Gere Framed
Richard Gere-
I admire Mr. Gere’s steadfast dedication to His Holiness, and the Tibeten people. As well as his view on religion and life. 

 

Jack Nicklaus
Jack Nicklaus-
A true gentlemen’s gentlemen! I hosted Jack and his lovely wife Barbara on several occasions at a private event that took place in conjunction with a professional golf tournament in the Ozarks. Jack’s kindness to me and my guests exemplified someone who is truly humble and filled with grace. His lifelong partnership with Barbara is one that all should want to aspire to. 

 

Through these relationships, and many others, I have enjoyed many precious moments and received wisdom that will last my lifetime. I hope that by sharing a few of these lessons, it gives you the chance to reflect on the relationships in your life along with the wisdom that you’ve received from them and what you can share with them in return.

 

~ Nadia Cavner

www.nadiatcavner.com 

 

Leave a comment